Kentucky Derby Winner

The Kentucky Derby winner is the horse which managed to overpower all other Kentucky Derby contenders and land first at the finish line in this highly prestigious grade 1 race. A Kentucky Derby winner is forever to be listed in the hall of fame of Kentucky Derby winners and the hall of fame of international horse racing.

Winning the Kentucky Derby
Not a very easy task to accomplish, winning the Kentucky Derby is something many trainers, owners and jockeys dream about every single year. The Kentucky Derby winner is most likely to be the horse which was best trained and prepared for the race, though even such horses might fail to withstand the pressure laid upon them prior to the race and while on course preparing to be called off. So in refinement, the horse most likely to be crowned as the Kentucky Derby winner will also have to be in supreme mental condition on top of his form and his training regime which was conducted by trainers and jockeys.

Picking Out the Kentucky Derby Winner
A lot of horse racing fans which engage horse racing betting will try and guess the Kentucky Derby winner and even lay down a tricast for the race, picking out three horses with the best chances of landing in the first three places and stating the exact order in which they will line up in the three given positions. Picking the Kentucky Derby winner is no easy task. While some horses are clearly superior to others, there is no guarantee they will run the race in case of picking a winner long before the race is due. Once the list of runners has been confirmed, isolating the potential Kentucky Derby winners from the ones bearing little chances or no chances at all is the main thing bettors do when they go about Kentucky Derby betting.

Kentucky Derby Winners Statistics
136 Kentucky Derbies over a course of 125 years have accumulated a long list of Kentucky Derby winners. Here is a concise list of recent Kentucky Derby winners and additional related statistics.

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2010 Super Saver Calvin Borel Todd Pletcher WinStar Farm 2:04.45
2009 Mine That Bird Calvin Borel Bennie L. Woolley, Jr. Double Eagle Ranch et al. 2:02.66
2008 Big Brown Kent Desormeaux Rick Dutrow IEAH Stables / P. Pompa 2:01.82
2007 Street Sense Calvin Borel Carl Nafzger James B. Tafel 2:02.17
2006 Barbaro Edgar Prado Michael R. Matz Lael Stables 2:01.36
2005 Giacomo Mike E. Smith John Shirreffs Jerry & Ann Moss 2:02.75
2004 Smarty Jones Stewart Elliott John Servis Someday Farm 2:04.06
2003 Funny Cide Jose Santos Barclay Tagg Sackatoga Stable 2:01.19
2002 War Emblem Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert Thoroughbred Corp. 2:01.13
2001 Monarchos Jorge F. Chavez John T. Ward, Jr. John C. Oxley 1:59.97
2000 Fusaichi Pegasus Kent Desormeaux Neil Drysdale Fusao Sekiguchi 2:01.00

Most wins by a jockey
5 – Eddie Arcaro (1938, 1941, 1945, 1948, 1952)
5 – Bill Hartack (1957, 1960, 1962, 1964, 1969)

Most wins by a trainer
6 – Ben A. Jones (1938, 1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952)

Most wins by an owner
8 – Calumet Farm (1941, 1944, 1948, 1949, 1952, 1957, 1958, 1968)

Stakes time record
1:59.40 – Secretariat (1973)